Member Log in

Log in

AHC Awards and Grant Committee

Each year, the Association for Humanistic Counseling (AHC) Awards and Grant Committee recognizes and celebrates the achievements of AHC members and other professionals who have distinguished themselves through their humanistic work. The AHC awards committee celebrates the humanistic accomplishments and contributions of counselors by having numerous competitive award categories available. Information about each award is included in this packet.

The 2019-2020 AHC National Awards recipients will be recognized at the AHC Awards Meeting at the 2020 AHC Annual Conference. (Please note: This is a change from previous years when the awards ceremony took place at the American Counseling Association national conference). In addition, award recipients and their accomplishments will be featured in Counseling Today and InfoChange, our AHC newsletter. The decisions for the award recipients are based on the criteria and requirements outlined in our 2019-2020 Packet per award. The chairs of the AHC awards committee will notify award recipients by mid December 2019.

All nominations must be emailed to the awards co-chairs by December 1st, 2019. Please ensure each document required is fully completed and attached to a single email. Nominations cannot be received via fax. Please scan items and include them as an attachment as needed. The awards co-chairs for 2019-2020 are Katie Purswell and Julia Whisenhunt. The committee email address is

AHC Call for Awards 2020  NOW OPEN!

Honoring a colleague, student, practitioner, advocate, or researcher by nominating is critical to our sense of community. Thanks for sharing your gratitude and appreciation!

The 2019-2020 AHC National Awards recipients will be recognized at the 2020 AHC Annual Conference in Denver, Colorado.

AHC National Awards

The Association for Humanistic Counseling invites nominations for National Awards. Open award categories include the following. 

  • Humanistic Leadership Award: The Humanistic Leadership Award was established to recognize an AHC member who served AHC for a several years and provided leadership to the organization.
  • Past President’s Award: The Past President’s Award is to recognize the service, dedication, and accomplishments of past AHC presidents.
  • Past Editor’s Award: Past Editors of the Journal of Humanistic Counseling are recognized for their service and dedication in keeping our journal quality high and its leadership for our field strong.
  • Humanistic Clinician Award: The Humanistic Clinician Award was established to recognize a clinician who holds a notable humanistic philosophy of counseling that resulted in an impact on the community or clients.
  • Distinguished Journal Reviewer Award: The Distinguished Journal Reviewer Award was established to recognize a journal reviewer for J-HCEAD who provides timely and high-quality reviews.
  • Humanistic Educator/Supervisor Award: The Humanistic Educator/Supervisor Award was established to recognize an AHC member who demonstrates a humanistic philosophy of teaching or supervision, resulting in a significant impact on the development of students / new professionals through teaching, advising, supervision, and/or mentoring.
  • Humanistic Impact Award: The Humanistic Impact Award was established to recognize a professional who, throughout a long-term career, has made a significant and long-lasting impact on the counseling profession, especially through educating counselors and/or producing research and scholarship that upholds humanistic values.
  • Humanistic Advocacy and Social Justice Award: The Humanistic Advocacy and Social Justice Award was established to recognize a AHC member who has served as a significant advocate for social justice issues. This member has additionally demonstrated a history of commitment to issues related to diversity, equity, and inclusion.
  • Humanistic Dissertation Award: The Outstanding Humanistic Dissertation Award honors a counseling graduate student, who is a member of AHC, and who wrote an outstanding dissertation with central and salient humanistic content, and successfully defended the dissertation during the designated time frame for this award year.
  • The Joe and Lucille Hollis Publication Award: The Hollis Award recognizes leadership and expertise in publishing in the counseling field. This award honors an AHC member or members who have made significant contributions to publishing in the counseling field that is relevant to the humanistic philosophy in counseling.
  • Make a Difference Grant: This grant supports graduate research with a humanistic philosophy, by students in a counseling program, which will make a difference for the population under study. The awarding of the grant is based on the humanistic characteristics and quality of the project as described in application.

  Contact AHC                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            

© 2018, Association for Humanistic Counseling,

  All Rights Reserved.
Association for Humanistic Counseling
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software